Appalachian Ohio Geospatial Data Partnership
Appalachian Ohio Geospatial Data Partnership

Regional GIS Links

Regional GIS Links

Voinovich School of Leadership & Public Affairs
The Voinovich School at Ohio University has an innovative, transformative program of job creation, real-world education of Ohio’s next generation of entrepreneurs, development of solutions for energy and environmental issues, training of state government and nonprofit agency leaders in strategic value creation and performance measurement, and expert analysis of the state’s K-12 system. The School, along with the University, has become a leader in public/private partnerships, and is poised to help Ohio become a business-friendly state.

Ohio Geographically Referenced Information Program (OGRIP)
OGRIP (Ohio Geographically Referenced Information Program) is an organization whose goals are to: encourage the creation of digital geographic data of value to multiple users, foster the ability to easily determine what geographic data exists and foster the ability to easily access and use this data. OGRIP is made up primarily of volunteers who share a common interest in the development of Geographic Information Systems (GIS) and use of geographic information in Ohio. These volunteers include representatives of several state agencies, local and regional governments, utilities, universities, private organizations and other interested individuals.

Muskingum Watershed Conservancy District
The Muskingum River Watershed, which covers more than 8,000 square miles and drains into the Muskingum River, is the largest wholly contained watershed in the state of Ohio, covering about 20 percent of the state. The Muskingum River - which is formed by the confluence of the Tuscarawas and Walhonding rivers at Coshocton, OH - empties into the Ohio River at Marietta. The system of reservoirs and dams in the watershed offers flood reduction and water conservation benefits to the region's property owners and residents. The Muskingum Watershed Conservancy District (MWCD), a political subdivision of the State of Ohio, was responsible for the development of the reservoirs and dams. Today the MWCD is dedicated to providing the benefits of flood reduction, water conservation and recreational opportunities in the Muskingum River Watershed.

Guernsey County Ohio
In the early and middle 1900s, pottery and glass-making flourished in the county. Later the plastics and electronics industries came to the area, but with the construction of two interstate highways (I-70 & I-77) through the county, transportation still plays an important part in our story, just as it did over 200 years ago in the days of the Mingo Trail and Zane's Trace.

Federal Geographic Data Committee (FGDC)
Standards facilitate the development, sharing, and use of geospatial data. The FGDC develops geospatial data standards for implementing the NSDI, in consultation and cooperation with State, local, and tribal governments, the private sector and academic community, and, to the extent feasible, the international community. The FGDC develops geospatial data standards only when no equivalent voluntary consensus standards exist, in accordance with OMB Circular A-119.

Morgan County Ohio
Late in the year 1817 the General Assembly of Ohio gave evidence of its willingness to take territory from Muskingum, Washington and Guernsey counties and create with it a new county, Morgan, but no headlong haste was observed in the steps adopted to give the proposed county a working existence. The act of 1817, passed December 29, provided that the new subdivision should bear the family name of General Morgan, a brave officer of the Revolution, and should be within certain boundaries. This act postponed organization of the county, until such time as the Legislature might think proper, and provided that meanwhile the new county should remain a part of the counties from which it was to come.

Buckeye Hills-Hocking Valley Regional Development District
Buckeye Hills-Hocking Valley Regional Development District helps local communities work cooperatively to improve the region. A voluntary organization of local government political subdivisions, Buckeye Hills serves eight counties securing financial resources to translate ideas into action.

Noble County Ohio
Gateway to Appalachia

Monroe County Ohio
Monroe County is located in South East Ohio along the beautiful Ohio River. Monroe County is a rural area with rolling hills and countryside you just have to see to believe. Monroe County is in South East Ohio, South of I-70 and East of I-77.

Ohio Valley Regional Development Commission
The Ohio Valley Regional Development Commission is a public regional planning commission established by agreement among its members pursuant to Section 713.21 of the Ohio Revised Code, as amended. Acting in the capacity of a regional economic and community development agency, OVRDC coordinates federal, state and local resources to encourage development in 12 southern Ohio counties: Adams, Brown, Clermont, Fayette, Gallia, Highland, Jackson, Lawrence, Pike, Ross, Scioto and Vinton.

Ohio Department of Transportation District 10
ODOT District 10 is comprised of nine counties in southeastern Ohio: Athens, Gallia, Hocking, Meigs, Monroe, Morgan, Noble, Vinton and Washington. District 10 has more than 1,200 bridges, 15,000 culverts, and 4,000 lane miles of state highway The region is known for its rural character, mountainous terrain, and scenic beauty – with the Ohio River bordering five of the district’s nine counties. The district headquarters are in Marietta

Wayne National Forest
Welcome to the Wayne National Forest located in the hills of southeastern Ohio. The Forest is a patchwork ownership that covers over a quarter million acres of Appalachian foothills. The Forest is divided into three blocks managed out of two Ranger District offices located in Nelsonville and Ironton with a field office in Marietta. The Forest has over 300 miles of trails for hiking, all-terrain vehicle riding, mountain biking, or horseback riding in season. The trails are open from April 15th through December 15th. Come visit the Wayne and hike or ride our trails!

Gallia County Ohio
Gallia County is uniquely situated between the beautiful Ohio River and the gentle rolling hills of Southeastern Ohio. Business and industry continue to thrive in Gallia County, both through expansion and new development. Gallia County truly provides an unequaled opportunity for business, industry, and social climate to flourish and succeed.

Eastgate Regional Council of Governments
Eastgate is directly responsible for a variety of federal, state, and local planning and project implementation programs. As the Metropolitan Planning Organization and Areawide Water Quality Management Agency for Mahoning and Trumbull Counties, and the designated Economic Development District, Eastgate continues to maintain required certifications and planning documents to qualify the region for federal and state funding. Other major areas of responsibility include: air quality planning, State Capital Improvement Program administration for the District 6 Public Works Integrating Committee, Intergovernmental review, administration of the regional Rideshare program, administration of the Clean Ohio Conservation & Revitalization Funds, and administration of the Local Development District of the Appalachian Regional Commission.